Year Zero

by Gideon Wolf

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Download of the album includes 4x beautiful photographs available as a6 polaroid prints in the CD release.
    You will also receive an exclusive bonus track made especially for this album.
    For those interested in the physical CD we still have copies at big cartel under Gideon Wolf!

      £8 GBP  or more


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 3 Gideon Wolf releases available on Bandcamp and save 30%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Year Zero, Near Dark, and Paper. , and , .

      £16.10 GBP or more (30% OFF)


  • Hand-numbered limited edition of 250 copies housed in two tone / 4 panel handmade letter-pressed Somerset cotton covers with A6 polaroid prints, ordnance Survey cloth bound map and download code.
    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    - Two tone / 4 panel hand made letter-pressed Somerset cotton covers

    - Glass mastered (not CD-R) CD

    - 25 A6 polaroid prints on luxury 250g acquerello card rest inside stitched / sealed glassine bags

    - Vintage (early 1900-1940) Ordnance Survey cloth bound map of NW Scotland (signed by Gideon Wolf)

    - Vintage (1825) ‘The Psalms Of David / Church Of Scotland' literature / insert

    - Incense

    - Hand tagged / numbered / typed

    - All of the above rests inside tagged glassine bag, sealed with washy tape

    - Download code (audio / bonus track / photo prints / screen saver images)

    Includes unlimited streaming of Year Zero via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ... more

    Sold Out



I would like to first thank the musicians involved on this album who in no particular order are; Yoon-Ji Kim, Alex Taylor, Steph Patten, Gabi 'Moog' Matzeu, Neath Champion-Weeks and Rachel Champion.

It's not often you get the trust of another musician to allow a process/improvisation to unravel in the studio and then for that musician to freely give over that material to you to use. For that faith and trust I honestly owe a huge debt of gratitude to Gabi Matzeu (or Mr Moog) for his support and brilliant creative input on this and my previous album Near Dark. You Sir are the man!

To Steph, Alex and Yoon-Ji for having the patience, trust and undoubted music ability when often asked to play incoherent and strange phrases/notes, trusting that I would hopefully turn those notes and phrases into something interesting...thank you! Turning now to my crazily creative and talented family I also want to thank my daughter Neath for adding her beautiful voice to this album, Rachel my partner in life and work, who in all creative endeavors is the person happy to listen to endless music day and night, pestered constantly to give opinions (good, bad, start again). I owe it all and more to her for being my secret editor! Lastly I think an honorary mention also need go to my son Reuben for being the dude; next time I will do my best to get some of his guitar involved! Big thanks also to James for mastering this album and pulling out those details and layers so beautifully.

This is my 4th album release since 2012 and I have encountered some fantastic people, real heroes in this small but necessary world of independent record labels. The biggest of these and one who deserves massive thanks is Dan Crossley at Fluid Audio for his unstinting support of my music. I'm not sure I have enough adequate words to describe how brilliant he has been and how open he is to releasing and promoting my music and others in this genre. Suffice to say this would definitely not be out there and being listened to if it wasn't for Dan....massive, massive props to you sir!

I hope you, the listener, enjoy this record and as always huge thanks for supporting my work and Fluid Audio, and for keeping this industry of underground music alive and kicking! - Gideon Wolf


Cello - Steph Patten
Violin – Alex Taylor
Violin – Yoon-Ji Kim
Voice - Neath Champion-Weeks, Rachel Champion
Moog/Juno/SH101/Prophet - Gabi ‘Moog’ Matzeu
Mastering - James Plotkin
Label maestro and mastermind – Dan Crossley

Track list:

1. Disquiet
2. Falling
3. Scratch
4. Insect
5. Limits
6. Oblivion
7. Exposed
8. Absence
9. Year Zero
10. Noise
11. Nova

9/10 Norman Records


released January 4, 2017



all rights reserved


Gideon Wolf UK

contact / help

Contact Gideon Wolf

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns